Seeding Labs Selects 18 Universities to Receive 2020 Instrumental Access Awards

Eighteen outstanding departments at universities in 10 countries across the globe have been chosen to receive scientific equipment through the 2020 Instrumental Access program.
Through Instrumental Access, Seeding Labs makes high-quality laboratory equipment and supplies available to university departments and research institutes in developing countries.
Our goal is to help create sustainable scientific infrastructure that increases research capacity and empowers every scientist to change the world.
The 18 awardees chosen for our 2020 Instrumental Access program were hand-picked from a pool of 58 applications received from 20 countries—underscoring the global need for scientific infrastructure.
During a rigorous vetting process, each applicant outlined the ways that an infusion of lab equipment would remove barriers to STEM education and research at their institution.
“Our 2020 Instrumental Access awardees were selected for their potential to solve problems and change lives through science,” says Christina Viola Srivastava, Director of Programs at Seeding Labs. “We welcome them to our Instrumental Access network and look forward to working with each awardee to strengthen their infrastructure.”

The 2020 Instrumental Access awardees are:

From South Asia

  • Jagannath University: Department of Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology; Dhaka, Bangladesh

From East Africa

  • Addis Ababa University: Center for Innovative Drug Development & Therapeutic Trials for Africa (CDT-Africa); Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Mkwawa University College of Education: Department of Chemistry; Iringa, Tanzania
  • Sokoine University of Agriculture: Department of Veterinary Physiology, Biochemistry & Pharmacology; Morogoro, Tanzania
  • South Eastern Kenya University: Department of Life Sciences; Kitui, Kenya
  • Taita Taveta University: Department of Horticulture; Voi, Kenya

From West Africa

  • Ashesi University: Department of Engineering; Accra, Ghana
  • Ondo State University of Science & Technology: Department of Biological Sciences; Akure, Nigeria
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University: Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences; Katsina, Nigeria
  • Université d'Abomey-Calavi: Department of Human Biology; Cotonou, Benin
  • Université de Ngaoundéré: Department of Biological Sciences; Yaoundé, Cameroon
  • University of Benin: Centre of Excellence in Reproductive Health Innovation; Benin City, Nigeria
  • University of Energy & Natural Resources: Department of Chemical Sciences; Sunyani, Ghana
  • University of Mines & Technology: Department of Minerals Engineering; Tarkwa, Ghana
  • University of Port Harcourt: Department of Plant Science & Biotechnology; Port Harcourt, Nigeria

From Southern Africa

  • Bindura University of Science Education: Department of Science & Mathematics Education; Bindura, Zimbabwe
  • Midlands State University: Department of Chemical Technology; Gweru, Zimbabwe
  • University of Namibia: Department of Biological Sciences; Windhoek, Namibia
09 May 2024
04 October 2023
30 March 2023
16 March 2023
17 February 2023