Welcome to School of Science and Computing

The South Eastern Kenya University carried out a restructuring of schools to realign its efforts in the delivery of the University’s core mandate of teaching, research, innovation and community service in Dryland Agriculture, Mining and environmental Conservation. The former schools of Pure and Applied sciences (SPAS) and Information and Communication Technology (ICT) were merged to form the school of Science and Computing. The newly constituted school has four departments: Department of Life sciences,Department of Physical sciences, Department of Mathematics and Actuarial science and the Department of Information and Communication Technology. With the rationalization, the school aims at achieving effective and effcient utilization of physical and human resources. The school also admitted its frst cohort of TVET students in Diploma in ICT. We look forward to admitting more students in diverse diploma programmes in the future. The school has a diverse and competent faculty who provide intensive training and scientifc exposure to students so as to contribute to achieving the global sustainable Development Goals (SDGS), The Africa Union Agenda 2063 and the Kenya’s Vision 2030.
The school has developed industrial and local and international research partnerships and faculty are involved in various research activities funded mainly through research grants. Members of staff in the school are currently implementing three multi-stakeholder research grants, with local and international partners. Staff have continued to publish their research work in high impact journals, in a wide range of felds such as Molecular Ecology, Biotechnology, Food science, environmental Bioresearch, Forest ecology and Management, Honeybee health, Clinical pharmacology, nanotechnology and Plant pathology. The school posted 60% of the top ten Google scholar citations for the third quarter 2021, with 468 citations in three months.